3 minutes to impress... in FameLab

Posted by on

How does a synchrotron work? What is love? Why do men have nipples? What would an alien look like?

These are the sort of questions that we will be finding answers to when 21 contestants from across the globe compete in the International Finals of the world’s greatest science communication competition – FameLab.

They have just 3 minutes to impress a panel of judges who will be assessing them on FameLab’s 3 C’s:

Content, clarity and charisma.

Please do come and cheer them on! Who will you vote for?

Since its birth at Cheltenham Science Festival in 2005, FameLab has grown into the world’s leading science communication competition. Working in partnership with the British Council and NASA this global competition has already seen more than 5000 young scientists and engineers participating in over 23 different countries. This year’s International Final will feature the winners from Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland and UK.

Each contestant has three minutes to present a science, technology, mathematics or engineering based talk using only the props they can carry on stage. They have already proved their scientific prowess and earned their crowns as national winners by being judged according to FameLab’s golden rule – the 3C’s: Content, Clarity and Charisma.

FameLab has become so popular around the world that the number of participating countries has grown rapidly. This means that this year there
will be two semi-finals, both on Thursday 6 June, and a grand final on Friday 7 June. We are delighted to welcome Quentin Cooper, presenter of BBC
Radio 4’s weekly The Material World, as host.

Regardless of where you are on Friday 7 June, you can watch the International Final as it will be live-streamed Festival from and

Semi-Finals: Thursday 6 June, 6.45 – 8.15pm and 9.00 – 10.30pm in the Winton Crucible
Final: Friday 7 June, 6.30 – 8.00pm in the EDF Energy Arena