Matthew Barley cello
Ivana Gavrić piano
_*Tim West* piano

Beethoven Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Op. 5 (1st movement) (18’)
Beethoven Cello Sonata No. 3 in A Op. 69 (2nd, 3rd & 4th movements) (14’)
Matthew Barley Improvisation (10’)
Beethoven Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Op. 102 (17’)

Total: 70’

Internationally renowned as a cellist, improviser and innovator, Matthew Barley’s musical world is focused on projects that connect people in different ways, blurring the boundaries of traditional concert formats. He brings to Gloucester Cathedral a new programme, ‘Ludwig’, originally conceived to celebrate the Beethoven anniversary in 2020, and which takes the audience on an interactive exploration of Beethoven’s cello sonatas, weaving performance, discussion, storytelling and improvisation to shed new light on the man and his music.

Find out more about the Matthew Barley and Ivana Gavric.


*Fees & Booking Info

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

*Our booking fee for online sales is £2.00

We endeavour to keep our booking fee as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events