La Serenissima

Adrian Chandler director/violin
Tabea Debus recorders
Oliver Cave, Mark Seow and Magda Loth-Hill violin 1
Agata Daraskaite, Simon Kodurand, Claudia Norz and Jim O’Toole violin 2
Elitsa Bogdanova, Thomas Kirby and Thomas Kettle viola
Vladimir Waltham and Carina Drury cello
Zaynab Martin double bass
Lynda Sayce theorbo
Robin Bigwood harpsichord

Zavateri Introducione in G major for strings & continuo (10’)
Sammartini Concerto for recorder, strings & continuo in F major (12’)
Dall’Abaco Concerto XII for strings & continuo in D major Op. 6 (7’)
Vivaldi Concerto for violin, strings & continuo in A major RV 353 (10’)
Vivaldi Concerto for sopranino recorder, strings & continuo in C major RV 443 (10’)
Vivaldi Concerto for violin, strings & continuo in E minor RV 281 (11’)
Concerto for sopranino recorder, strings & continuo in C major RV 443 (10’)
Concerto for violin, strings & continuo in E minor RV 281 (11’)
Brescianello Overture-Suite for strings & continuo in D (10’)

Total: 70’

‘Most serene’ is what they called Venice, but there’s nothing staid about this explosion of 18th-century colour, melody and instrumental razzle-dazzle, performed by award-winning period instrument ensemble La Serenissima returns to the Festival under its founder and director, Adrian Chandler, and featuring gloriously extravagant concertos by Vivaldi and his contemporaries. They are joined by soloist Tabea Debus, described by Classic FM as “one of the most exciting young musicians in the early music world”.

Click here to book accessible parking

Kindly supported by Diana Woolley.


Town Hall, Classic FM Stage

The Town Hall, situated on Imperial Gardens in the centre of Cheltenham comprises of a Grand Main Hall, distinguished by its Corinthian styles columns and coved ceiling. The Main Hall is accompanied by dining and drawing rooms, as well as the Pillar Room bar.

The venue’s early 20th century Edwardian elegance makes it the classic ‘shoebox’ concert hall. With a seating capacity of 900, the Town Hall is perfectly suited to grand symphony orchestra performances with a thrilling impact.


*Fees & Booking Info

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

*Our booking fee for online sales is £2.00

We endeavour to keep our booking fee as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events