Lawrence Power viola
Huw Watkins piano

Gabriel Willaume La noce bretonne
Garth Knox Quartet for One
François Couperin Prelude in D minor from “Pièces de viole”
Thomas Ades Three Berceuses from ‘The exterminating Angel’
Huw Watkins Fantasy for Viola and Piano
Rebecca Clarke Viola Sonata

We regret that The Mithras Trio are unable to perform for our final New Generation Artist recital, but we are delighted that Lawrence Power and Huw Watkins will be replacing them, and we are grateful to them for stepping in at very short notice.

New Generation Artist alumni Lawrence Power is one of today’s foremost violists, in demand worldwide as a recitalist, concerto soloist and chamber music partner. His eloquent artistry and penetrating musicianship gains him constant plaudits around the world, reflected in turn in eloquent reviews: ‘No musician today better equipped to play than the minstrel-like Power’ – Financial Times.

Power was honoured with the 2020 RPS Instrumentalist Award, made ‘For the outstanding quality and scope of the performances and work in any context of a solo performer on any instrument in the UK’.

Pianist and composer Huw Watkins is in great demand with orchestras and festivals including the London Sinfonietta, Britten Sinfonia, the BBC orchestras and Aldeburgh and Cheltenham Festivals. He has performed globally at concert halls including at the Barbican, the Wigmore Hall, the Library of Congress in Washington and the Smithsonian Institute. Strongly committed to the performance of new music, Huw has given premieres of works by Alexander Goehr, Tansy Davies, Michael Zev Gordon and Mark-Anthony Turnage. Recently Huw has featured as both Composer in Residence and pianist at festivals including Presteigne and Lars Vogt’s ‘Spannungen’ Festival in Heimbach, Germany, as well as with the Orchestra of the Swan.

Composition highlights include his acclaimed Violin Concerto premiered at the BBC Proms by Alina Ibragimova and the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Edward Gardner.

We regret that due to artist cancellation there are no programme notes available for this recital.

Click here to book accessible parking

SPECIAL OFFER: Buy tickets for three recitals, get £5 off your fourth across all NGA recitals.

Kindly supported by Eileen Lockwood.


*Fees & Booking Info

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

*Our booking fee for online sales is £2.00

We endeavour to keep our booking fee as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events