BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Martyn Brabbins conductor

Delius On hearing the first cuckoo in Spring (7’)
Sir Malcolm Arnold Concerto for 2 violins and Strings Op. 77 (17’)
Finzi Prelude for String Orchestra and F minor Op. 25 (5.30’)
Short pause (5-10’)
John Pickard Concertante Variations for Wind Quintet, Timpani & Strings (13’)
Walton Siesta (6’)
Elgar Serenade for Strings (11’)

Total: 70’

Martyn Brabbins takes the helm of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales for a programme of favourite music conjuring up a beautiful spring day in the English countryside. Delius’ On hearing the first cuckoo in Spring immediately sets the scene. In his centenary year we hear Malcolm Arnold’s tuneful Concerto for two violins, and the light-hearted Concertante Variations by John Pickard. Time for a pleasant nap courtesy of Walton’s Siesta and a final stroll around Elgar’s rolling hills in his Serenade for Strings.

Find out more about BBC National Orchestra and Chorus of Wales here.

Click here to book accessible parking

In memory of Gina Wilson. Kindly Supported by The Chairman’s Friends.


*Fees & Booking Info

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

*Our booking fee for online sales is £2.00

We endeavour to keep our booking fee as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events