BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Martyn Brabbins conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason cello
Daniel Pioro violin

Gavin Higgins Velocity 6’
Howells Paradise Rondel 10’
Elgar Cello Concerto 30’
Holst In the street of the Ouled Nails (from Beni Mora) 7’
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending 13’
Holst The Perfect Fool (ballet suite) 11’
Parry Jerusalem 2’

Hailed as the successor to Jacqueline du Pré, who made Elgar’s Cello Concerto her own, 18-year-old Sheku Kanneh-Mason returns after a sensational debut at Cheltenham last year. The BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Martyn Brabbins begin their three-day residency with a concert featuring music by composers with strong local connections – from Cheltenham’s Holst and Highnam Court’s Parry to Howells and Higgins, both brought up in the Forest of Dean a century apart. Innovative young violinist Daniel Pioro joins them for Vaughan Williams’ soaring masterpiece The Lark Ascending.

Supported by Diana Woolley, The Herbert Howells Trust and The Oldham Foundation


Town Hall Main Hall

The Town Hall, situated on Imperial Gardens in the centre of Cheltenham comprises of a Grand Main Hall, distinguished by its Corinthian styles columns and coved ceiling. The Main Hall is accompanied by dining and drawing rooms, as well as the Pillar Room bar.

The venue’s early 20th century Edwardian elegance makes it the classic ‘shoebox’ concert hall. With a seating capacity of 900, the Town Hall is perfectly suited to grand symphony orchestra performances with a thrilling impact.

*Fees & Booking Info

Our booking fee

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

Our booking fees are as follows:

  • Online sales £2.00
  • Telephone sales £2.00
  • In person card sales £2.00
  • In person cash and card sales £2.00

We endeavour to keep our booking fees as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events