Welsh Sinfonia
Anthony Marwood violin
Lawrence Power viola
Jem Panufnik illustration
Mark Eager conductor

Mozart Sinfonia Concertante in E flat K.364 30’
Roxanna Panufnik Orchestrapaedia (English premiere) 15’
David Matthews Double Concerto for violin, viola & strings (premiere) 15’
Beethoven Symphony No 8 in F major Op.93 36’

Framed by a Mozart concerto and a Beethoven symphony, two brand new works form this debut concert in Cheltenham by the Welsh Sinfonia. After his recital in the morning, Lawrence Power is joined by violinist Anthony Marwood for Mozart’s beloved duo concerto, and David Matthews’ new work for the same pairing.

Inspired by Britten’s Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra (heard on Saturday 6 July, event M13) Orchestrapaedia is a brand new piece by Roxanna Panufnik that celebrates an orchestra’s diverse character. Based on the hauntingly beautiful Welsh air ‘Dros yr Afon’, the instruments take on anthropomorphic characters, such as Señor Trompeta, the Mexican Trumpet; Sassy Clarinet & Big Daddy Bass and Loving Lower Strings – all vividly brought to life in glorious technicolour by Roxanna’s artist brother, Jem Panufnik.

Panufnik and Matthews commissions with the support of

Pre-concert talk: Composers in Conversation

FREE to M17 ticket holders
6pm, Cheltenham Town Hall

Roxanna Panufnik and David Matthews discuss their new works ahead of tonight’s performance.


*Fees & Booking Info

Our booking fee

CF Ticketing charges a fee per booking to reflect the costs of providing the service which include card processing costs (for both credit and debit cards) as well as staffing, developing and maintaining the booking software and postage

Our booking fees are as follows:

  • Online sales £2.50
  • Telephone sales £2.50
  • In person card sales £1.50
    There is no fee for in person sales by cash

We endeavour to keep our booking fees as low as possible and charge on a per booking basis rather than a per ticket basis to ensure this. We also endeavour to ensure that our booking fees are clear before any transaction is completed.

For more information about your booking click here

All Music events

blog comments powered by Disqus